1/3 of Entirely New Post: July-October 2016

In my “2016, done!” post, I made mention of three milestones in 2016 that needs an entirely new post. I made countless attempts to write them but I failed. Everything is still overwhelming. Hopefully, this post makes some sense despite the flood of emotions I am feeling while writing this.

July-October 2016: Pre-bar Review season.

My pre-bar review and lectures started third week of May but my “real” review started only on July 1.  Why “real” review? Did I fake reviewed on May and June? Really, no. But I was still working on those months. I filed my resignation last week of May because I went through ping-pongs of what ifs and doubts. I knew then that I had to focus on the review and resign but my pessimist self needed to have a plan b. What if I resigned and failed, where do I pick up myself? Also, at around the same time, my team in the office was going through rough transition. And these are my friends and I don’t want to cause them any more trouble than what they were already going through. I also had to consider my finances, how I will support myself and all.

Things eventually fell into place. With the support of my family and my officemates, I decided to resign. They just wanted me to focus on the exams and let go whatever doubts I had. So I rendered my 30 days notice until end of June. First day of July, I started reviewing without any other thing on my mind.

I was at awe with how much time I had. It felt too short to actually plan a number of readings but it also felt too long knowing that I won’t be doing anything except to read. My study plan, as advised by my lawyer friends, is to study in the morning until evening and to have a complete eight hours of sleep at night.

  • 7am- wake up, take a bath, breakfast
  • 8am- STUDY, STUDY, STUDY!!!
  • 10am- coffee break
  • 10:15am- STUDY, STUDY, STUDY!!!
  • 12nn- lunch break
  • 1pm- STUDY, STUDY, STUDY!!!
  • 3pm- nap
  • 3:30pm- STUDY, STUDY, STUDY!!!
  • 6pm- rosary, dinner, real-life interaction
  • 7pm- Cooling off reading
  • 10pm- Sleep

Since I enrolled in a pre-bar review, there are days when I have to attend lectures. I needed to squeeze in 5 hours of lecture time in the schedule I had planned.

Ugh! The first week is a struggle. My mind was trained to do office work in the morning and to study in the evening. And since I just resigned, I wanted to sleep all day. So random days, I had to adjust my daily schedule because at 6pm, I was able to read 4pages only. Plus I did not factor in cellphone time which is a big chunk of my everyday.

After three weeks, I found myself getting used to the routine. I did not look forward to the coffee break or nap time. I was able to finish the target number of pages I had for the day. I leave my phone on a side I would not be checking it. I was very hopeful that with the rate I was going, I can do another round of readings. I am very, very wrong.

Around September, I wanted to start on my second reading. But I was too tired. I was very emotional too. I was crying. I almost quit. I am glad that I didn’t. So by this time, I told myself that I need to adjust, again, my study schedule in such a phase that my body would allow. By mid September, I got my groove back. I enjoyed studying on my own and attending lectures (only those I think I need).

It is also around these months that I asked for divine intercession. I went to St. Padre Pio in Batangas with Nanay and Tatay. The whole family went to Pink Sisters in Tagaytay. Angel, Jill and I attended mass in St. Jude. Owie and I went to Our Lady of Manaoag, commute, without us knowing how to. The fambam likewise went to Letran so we can all pray that Our Lady of La Naval would help me during those times. I tried hard to go to UST Church everyday. Every Sunday, I pray to St. Agustine in our parish. I prayed that I will be healthy and ready for the big B.

Until now, I am very humbled knowing that I survived those months. I know it was all through God’s grace and the intercession of the Saints in heaven. I know that the people around me got me through each day.

These months, they led me to November, to the big B… That is another story I will be posting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

